Metered & Switched DC Power Distribution Units

Demonstrably fewer IT failures with switched and metered DC PDUs
Active switched and metered PDUs generally refer to IP power distribution units that provide AC supply voltages. In the GUDE Systems portfolio, most power distribution units belong to this category. Read more detailed information about these terms.
Furthermore, remote power switches can also provide direct current (DC) supply voltages. This is especially interesting if consumers from the IT or AV area are to be connected to the IP power strip: Many of these end devices require an extra-low voltage of 5V, 12V or 24V and can be supplied directly by a DC PDU. Particularly practical: The individual power supply units of the end devices can then be dispensed with.
The following is an overview of the Switched and Metered DC PDUs available from GUDE. These have the features described above.

The right PDU for every application

1. Switched PDU

This PDU has a switching function that can be used to switch connected devices on and off. An integrated watchdog enables an automated and fail-safe switching sequence (self-healing function). The quality of the integrated switching relays plays a key role in the trouble-free operation of the PDU. Ideally, so-called high inrush relays are used here.

2. Metered PDU

This PDU has a measuring function that can be used to measure the consumption of the connected devices. These can be measurements of electrical quantities such as voltage, current, phase angle, power factor, frequency, active, apparent and reactive power. The measurement of fault current, which is important for operational safety, can also be recorded. In addition, it is possible to configure limit values for the measured quantities, which, if exceeded, result in an immediate alarm via e-mail. There are three types of current measurement:

Unit-Metered PDU (input side)
The measurement is performed at the input or per bank of the PDU

Outlet-metered PDU (output side)
The measurement is made in relation to each output of the PDU, i.e. per connected load.

Inline-metered PDU (intermediate)
The measurement is made inside the PDU. It is placed before the distribution to provide passive PDUs with metering functionality.

 

Other features? Click here for our PDU selection

Become a GUDE Insider

Be the first to know about product news, firmware updates, exclusive events and webinars.

And what else is new in the GUDE universe.

How can we support you?

Metered & Switched DC Power Distribution Units

Mit schaltenden und messenden DC PDUs zu nachweislich weniger IT-Ausfällen

Mit aktiven switched (schaltenden) und metered (messenden) PDUs sind in aller Regel IP-Stromverteiler gemeint, die Versorgungsspannungen mit Wechselstrom (AC) zur Verfügung stellen. Im Portfolio von GUDE Systems zählen die meisten Power Distribution Units zu dieser Gattung. Lesen Sie weitere detaillierte Informationen zu diesen Begriffen.

Des Weitern können Remote Power Switches auch Gleichspannungen (DC) bereit stellen. Dies ist besonders interessant, wenn Verbraucher aus dem IT- oder AV-Bereich an die IP-Steckdosenleiste angeschlossen werden sollen: Viele dieser Endgeräte bedürfen einer Kleinspannung von 5V, 12V oder 24V und können von einer DC-PDU direkt versorgt werden. Besonders praktisch: Auf die einzelnen Netzteile der Endgeräte kann dann verzichtet werden.

Im Folgenden wird ein Überblick über die bei GUDE erhältlichen Switchend und Metered DC-PDUs geboten. Diese verfügen über die oben beschriebenen Merkmale.

Für jeden Anwendungsfall die richtige PDU

1. Switched (schaltende) PDU

Diese PDU besitzt eine Schaltfunktion, mit der angeschlossene Geräte ein- und ausgeschaltet werden können. Ein integrierter Watchdog ermöglicht dabei eine automatisierte und fallgerechte Schaltfolge (Selbstheilungsfunktion). Der Qualität der integrierten Schaltrelais kommt beim störungsfreien Betrieb der PDU eine Schlüsselrolle zu. Idealerweise kommen hier sogenannte High Inrush-Relais zum Einsatz.

2. Metered (messende) PDU

Diese PDU besitzt eine Messfunktion, mit der die Verbräuche der angeschlossenen Geräte gemessen werden können. Dies können Messungen von elektrischen Größen wie z.B. Spannung, Strom, Phasenwinkel, Leistungsfaktor, Frequenz, Wirk-, Schein- und Blindleistung sein. Auch die für die Betriebssicherheit wichtige Messung des Fehlerstroms kann erfasst werden. Darüber hinaus ist eine Konfiguration von Grenzwerten für die gemessenen Größen möglich, bei deren Überschreitung eine unmittelbare Alarmierung per E-Mail erfolgt. Dabei gibt es drei Arten der Strommessung:

  • Unit-Metered PDU (eingangsseitig)
    Die Messung erfolgt am Eingang oder pro Bank der PDU
  • Outlet-metered PDU (ausgangsseitig)
    Die Messung erfolgt bezogen auf jeden Ausgang der PDU, also pro angeschlossenem Verbraucher
  • Inline-Metered PDU (zwischengeschaltet)
    Die Messung erfolgt innerhalb der PDU. Diese wird vor die weitere Stromverteilung gesetzt, um passive PDUs mit einer Messfunktionalität auszustatten.

 

Andere Features? Hier geht’s zu unserer PDU Auswahl

Werden Sie GUDE Insider

Erfahren Sie als Erster von Produktneuheiten, Firmware-Updates, exklusiven Veranstaltungen und Webinaren.

Und was es sonst noch Neues im GUDE-Universum gibt.

Wie können wir Sie unterstützen?